Skip to content

I’ve got nothing against God. It’s his Fan Club I can’t stand!

December 28, 2011

I can’t be the only person who has seen this bumper sticker around. I also can’t be the only person who has found himself agreeing with it.

Now please don’t get me wrong – I think that Christians can be some great people, and I like a lot of church people; however, there are times when we do some really dumb stuff. Worse than dumb, often we find ourselves doing stuff that actually drives people away. And, well, if we’re driving people away we’re failing at our mission. I hate failing.

I like winning!

Jesus made the mission pretty clear when he was down here slumming with us sinners. He told us that it was all about love. There was a time when a religious lawyer was sent to him to challenge him, and this lawyer asked him:

“What is the most important commandment in the law?”

Jesus knew that this was a trap, but being wise he said:

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, and mind. This is the first and most important commandment. The second most important commandment is like this one. And it is, Love others as much as you love yourself.”

Sounds easy doesn’t it? Sounds a lot more simple than a lot of people I know make it out to be. It also sounds cool – how awesome would it be if that’s what we actually did? But so often in Church we want to get into debates about what other people should or shouldn’t be doing, and worse than debating it – we take it upon ourselves to go out there and tell people about what we’ve decided. This is where people get to the point where they can’t stand the fan club anymore.

Now I know there is a bunch of stuff out there that isn’t “good” to do. I know there are things the Bible straight up says not to do, and I don’t want anyone to think that I’m saying that everything that is done in this world is good. But one of the things that isn’t good to do is to pass judgement on other people. In fact Jesus was blunt when he said “Don’t judge”.

Jesus also told us what is going to attract people – lifting him up.

“If I am lifted up above the earth, I will make everyone want to come to me.”

His words, I’m not making this stuff up. So church people – if we really want people to come then let’s stop doing the stuff Jesus said not to do (Judging people) and start doing the stuff he said to do (Lifting him up, that is to act like him, say the same stuff he said and telling people how awesome he is). Have enough faith that Jesus, not church, will make the changes he deems necessary in people’s lives and just be happy that they are getting to know him.

The rest of the world – I’m glad you have nothing against God – please don’t hold his fan club against him – we’re still working on getting this religion thing right.

From → Church

One Comment
  1. Craig permalink

    I agree with how complex it actually is to follow the prime directive. It applies to every interaction we have in any form. Thankfully we don’t have to do it perfectly. But, it is a great way to try to live. Thanks for sharing your insight.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

